Stephens County Confirmed in 8-AA, region shrinks to 6

Stephens County’s placement in Region 8-AA is confirmed, but the 8-AA ranks shrunk by one as Union County’s appeal regarding their placement in the Georgia High School Association’s 2024-2026 region realignment was successful, and they have been moved from 8-AA to 7-AA.

As reported by WNEG News earlier this month, The Georgia High School Association, or GHSA,  moved  Stephens County from a AAA to a AA classification, and placed them in the seven-team region 8-AA. Other schools proposed to be in the region included Franklin County, Hart County, East Jackson, Hebron Christian Academy, Prince Avenue Christian, and Union County.

The preliminary reclassification roster was finalized yesterday after GHSA held a meeting to allow counties to appeal their placement in the realignment. Outside of Union County’s shift to Region 7-AA, the 8-AA region remains as announced earlier. 

In other placements in the realignment, Habersham Central will make the move to 5-A and will be joined by seven other schools in region 8-5A.

Rabun and Elbert County will stay in region 8-Division one but will be joined by nine other schools for an eleven-team region.

Other than the Union County appeal, there were no other appeals from area schools.

According to the GHSA meeting minutes for yesterday’s meeting, following the appeal hearings, the committee then entered into a lengthy discussion about the Playoff Evaluation Formula.

According to the minutes, there were many suggestions brought up during the discussion. The committee seemed to be in agreement that the formula would need some changes from the one originally presented, and it was decided that the committee and the office would come up with a modified proposal, which will be presented when the full State Executive Committee meets to ratify the new classes and regions for the 2024-26 school years.

The new proposal will be emailed to the State Executive Committee members as soon as possible and will be included on the agenda for the November 29 State Executive Committee meeting.

A complete list of Classifications and Regions for all schools in Georgia, click here.