Local residents honored as members of NGTC boards

Stephens County residents Dr. Jim Wade, Janna Cheek, Whit Diggs, Cassandra Wilkins, Bob Evans, Dr. Stephen Tilley and Lynn Allen were among those honored at the recent Technical College System of Georgia’s Annual Leadership Conference in Savannah. 

Wade, along with other members of the North Georgia Technical College Board of Directors, earned the Technical College Directors’ Association, or TCDA, board certification for the entire board for the 12th consecutive year. To earn the designated certification, all board members must complete professional development workshops consisting of new board orientation/governance; relationship building with elected officials; community advocacy; legislative budgeting process and financial management of technical colleges; and an elective workshop. Members must also attend 80% of local board meetings, tour the local technical college, and attend a Technical College System of Georgia, or TCSG, State Board meeting or the TCSG Leadership Conference. 

Along with Wade, members of the 2023-2024 NGTC Board of Directors who earned this distinction include Chair Gilbert Barrett of Demorest, Vice Chair Cliff Bradshaw of Hiawassee, Mitchel Barrett of Cleveland, Ron Barden of Rabun Gap, Julia Barnett of Blairsville, Matt Cathey of Mount Airy, Scott Cochran of Lavonia, Theresa Dillard of Mineral Bluff, and Rope Roberts of Clarkesville.

Also, The NGTC Foundation Board of Trustees received an award for attaining role model foundation board certification from the Technical College Foundation Association , or TCFA, marking the ninth consecutive year for this distinction. TCFA is a membership organization that represents the 25 TCSG foundations and over 600 trustees statewide. 

The TCFA Role Model Foundation Board Certification is an honor bestowed on the TCSG foundations that engage in best practices in nonprofit governance, board management, and operations; have policies in place to ensure compliance with state and federal regulations, especially in financial matters; are led by a board of trustees whose members are actively engaged in the foundation’s development activities; and support the professional development and state-level participation of their trustees, executive director, and college advancement personnel.

Along with Cheek, Diggs and Wilkins, members of the 2023-2024 NGTC Foundation Board of Trustees include Chair Rev. David Tinsley of Young Harris, Mully Ash of Helen, Tim Ash of Clarkesville, Janine Bethel of Tiger, Hilda Burke of Clarkesville, David Foster of Cornelia, Don Higgins of Cornelia, Jason Hogan of Cleveland, Bob Ramay of Blairsville, Terry Rogers of Clarkesville, and  Stewart Sayer of Mount Airy. Emeritus members include Evans, Tilley, Allen, Pam Spangler of Sautee and Shirley Wilkinson of Cornelia.