NDO will begin scheduling appointments for cooling help on April 3

Ninth District Opportunity has announced it will begin scheduling appointments for Cooling Help on April 3.

According to Ninth District Opportunity’s Program Director Brenda Dalin, one-time payments will be made by check issued to the home cooling suppliers on behalf of eligible households up to $500.

She says the Cooling Help program is available for households in which every member is age 65 and older or is medically homebound due to health reasons.

Eligibility for the program is based on the income of all household members. All eligible households must be responsible for their home cooling costs.

All eligible applicants are asked to contact Ninth District Opportunity’s scheduling system on April 3, 2023, beginning at 12:01 a.m. by telephone at 855-636-3108 or go online to ndo.appointment.work/ea.

Scheduling will not be available before the opening date of the program.

Appointments will be scheduled until all funds are exhausted.

Again, when applying for assistance, persons will present verification of age for everyone in the home, verification of all household income received within the past 30 days (check stubs, public assistance checks, unemployment checks, etc.), verification of Social Security Numbers for everyone in the home, verification of citizenship, and the most recent electric bill and heating bill. Please bring all documentation. Ninth District Opportunity can no longer obtain the information for you.

Additional information will be made available online at www.ndo.org.

Again, only households where every member is age 65 and older or is medically homebound due to health reasons are eligible for assistance.

Applicants that do not meet the required criteria will be denied.

If funds are available, income eligible households who do not qualify for the program in April, may apply on May 1, 2023.

The Cooling Help program is for eligible households in Banks, Barrow, Clarke, Dawson, Elbert, Forsyth, Franklin, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Jackson, Lumpkin, Madison, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union and White counties.