Indians Finish Football Season With Win

Stephens County concludes the 2020 football season with a win on Senior Night.

Friday, the Indians defeated East Jackson at home, 61-12.

Head Coach Wesley Tankersley said it is a positive note on which to end the season.

“Very proud of them this year and how they’ve conducted themselves and given their best through the adversity that 2020 has brought,” said Tankersley. “I hate it ended like this, but the kids took a step forward and that’s a testament to our seniors.”

Stephens County jumped out to a 20-0 lead after one quarter on a 23-yard touchdown run from T.J. Everett and two touchdown runs of 1 yard and 13 yards from Corey Ibrahim.

After East Jackson’s R.J. White cut it to 27-6 on an interception return for a touchdown, Ben Stowe scored on a three-yard touchdown run to extend the Indian lead to 34-6 at halftime.

In the third quarter, the Indians added three touchdowns thanks to a 58-yard touchdown pass from Stowe to Cam Lacy and touchdown runs of 18 and 44 yards from Zach Feaster.

Leading 48-6 heading into the fourth quarter, the Indian defense scored twice on a 90-yard fumble recovery by Kyle Watson and a long interception return from Bryson Trimier. White scored one final time for East Jackson to round out the scoring.

Kelton Cade also had an interception and a fumble recovery in the first half tonight for the Indians.

With the win, the Indians finish the season 5-3, but only 1-2 in the region, missing out on the playoffs. East Jackson finishes 1-8 this season and 0-5 in the region.

Elsewhere tonight, Monroe Area edged Hart County 19-16 to take second place in Region 8-AAA.

Next week in the playoffs, Oconee County will host Westminster, Monroe Area will host Cedar Grove, Hart County will visit Carver of Atlanta, and Franklin County will travel to Greater Atlanta Christian.

Player Awards

Stephens County Farm Bureau Player of the Game: Jahari Burns
Hart EMC Lineman of the Game: William Rudeseal
X-Factor Sub of the Game: Kegan Mealor
First Baptist Church Spirit Award: T.J. Everett