Advance Voting for Runoff election continues in Stephens County

The Advance Voting Period for the upcoming runoff election continues today in Stephens County.

According to Stephens County Election Supervisor Krista Terry, residents will cast advance ballots at the Historic Stephens County Courthouse from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. daily through Friday, June 17.

All registered voters are eligible to vote in the runoff election; regardless if you did not vote in the General Primary on May 24.

Election day voting will be held on Tuesday, June 21, at the Stephens County Senior Center from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Anyone who requested absentee ballots, the deadline to return those to the Elections Office is no later than 7 p.m. on Tuesday, June 21.

There are two local races on the ballot for this runoff election; both are for posts on the Stephens County Board of Commissioners.

For Post 1, Republican Dennis Black will be vying against Republican Challenger Tara D. Simmons.

During the May 24th General Primary Election, Black received 1,459 votes or 36.58 percent and Simmons received 880 votes or 22.07 percent.

For Post 4, Republican Incumbent James Addison will be vying against Republican Challenger Chris Rickman.

Addison received 1,960 votes or 48.71 percent of the vote during the General Primary election, whereas Rickman received 1,133 votes or 28.16 percent.

For additional information regarding the upcoming Runoff election contact Terry by calling 706-886-8954.