New City Commissioners Sworn In

December 17, 2013

Toccoa swears in its two incoming city commissioners.

Judge Bob Struble gave the oath of office to Commissioners-Elect Jeanette Jamieson and Evan Hellenga during Monday’s meeting.

Jamieson and Hellenga are replacing outgoing commissioners Andy Pavliscsak and Ron Seib.

Mayor David Austin said Toccoa appreciates Pavliscsak’s and Seib’s contributions to the city.

“I have been on this commission for 14 years and worked with a lot of different commissioners and I have always said that everybody brings to the table different perspectives and unique perspectives,” said Austin.  “We do not always agree on everything and that is okay.  Everybody gets their say and we come together and make decisions.  Like I say, everybody has their own perspective and it is very valuable what they bring to the table.”

Austin then presented both men with plaques for their service.

Pavliscsak served from 2006 to 2013.

“I would like to say to the citizens of Toccoa, StephensCounty, and the customers of the city of Toccoa, I want to personally thank you for the opportunity to have served as one of your (city) commissioners.  It is an honor and a distinct privilege to have done so,” said Pavliscsak.

Meanwhile, Seib served from 2007 to 2013.

“I want to thank my family, the employees of the city, and my fellow commissioners,” said Seib, who echoed Pavliscsak’s comments.  “It has been a distinct honor and a pleasure.”

Jamieson and Hellenga’s four-year terms begin on January 1.

You Are Here:

WNEG > News > New City Commissioners Sworn In

NE Georgia Weather


  • June 19, 2015Toccoa High School All Class Reunion
  • August 17, 2015The American Cancer Society needs volunteer drivers
  • August 17, 2015Earn a high school diploma at night!
  • August 29, 2015 9:00 amHeart Health Day
AEC v1.0.4