GHSA Releases New Regions

December 4, 2013

Proposed regions are out for the next two years in Georgia high school sports.

Tuesday, the Georgia High School Association released proposed new regions for the 2014-2015 and 2015-2016 school years.

Stephens County will remain in Region 8-AAAA for another two years under the GHSA’s plan.

Joining the Indians in Region 8-AAAA will be holdovers Chestatee, Johnson of Gainesville, Madison County, Monroe Area, and Walnut Grove.

Four new schools will also join Stephens County’s region.

They are Buford, North Hall, White County, and North Oconee, who are all moving up from AAA starting with next school year.

In all, that makes the proposed Region 8-AAAA a 10-team region.

Eastside, a current Region 8-AAAA member, is proposed to move to Region 4-AAAA.

Other current Region 8-AAAA members Lanier and Lumpkin County are moving to new classifications, with Lanier going to AAAAA and LumpkinCounty dropping to AAA.

Elsewhere in the area, Habersham Central will move from Region 7-AAAAAA to Region 6-AAAAAA.  Region 6 consists of Forsyth and north Fulton County schools, while Region 7 is mainly Gwinnett County schools.

Also, Franklin County will move from Region 8-AAA to Region 7-AAA, separating it from traditional rivals Hart and Elbert counties, who remain in Region 8-AAA.

Schools have until December 13 to submit an appeal for a lateral transfer to another region.

The regions will be formally ratified on January 14.

You Are Here:

WNEG > Sports > GHSA Releases New Regions

NE Georgia Weather


  • February 3, 2015 9:00 amFree Tax Preparation and E-filing Tuesdays and Thursdays
  • March 31, 2015GriefShare
  • March 31, 20152015 Youth Summer Theatre Program
  • March 31, 2015 8:00 amPre-K Registration in Stephens Co. Schools
AEC v1.0.4